Get HSTS header Archway :: Agency Full Description
  Department of Internal Affairs, Head Office   (AAAC) Te Tari Taiwhenua
1840 - current


From 1840 until the late nineteenth century, the Colonial Secretary's Office was the hub of the colonial government, with a wide range of responsibilities. As the colonial government grew, these responsibilities were gradually passed on to newly formed departments, until by the early twentieth century the Colonial Secretary's Department, now known as the Department of Internal Affairs, no longer occupied such a central position within government. During its history, the Department has been home to a miscellany of functions, including: supervision of local government; public health; agriculture; naturalisation and citizenship; cultural matters; civil defence; gaming laws ; cinematograph censorship; carriage & storage of dangerous goods; wildlife; distinguished visitors; promotion of national arts; and constitutional matters.



name year
Colonial Secretary's Department, Head Office

Location : Auckland
Russell, Northland


  • ANZAC Day Act 1962
  • Architects Act 1963
  • Architects Regulations 1964
  • Archives, Culture and Heritage Reform Act 2000
  • Births, Deaths and Marriages Registration (Fees) Regulations 1995
  • Births, Deaths and Marriages Registration (Prescribed Information and Forms) Regulations 1995
  • Births, Deaths, and Marriages Registration Act 1995
  • Boxing and Wrestling Act 1981
  • Building Act 1991
  • Building Regulations 1992
  • Bylaws Act 1910
see more …

Archives NZ description type : Agency (see more about description types)
Version Number: 7
Date Approved: 20/08/2015